30 Days of Truth: A letter to yourself, tell yourself EVERYTHING you love about yourself

Dear Self,

How do I love you? Let me count all the ways. This is a difficult but important task, assigned to me in the past by a therapist, but I never completed it. I started writing things down and then felt funny about saying good things to myself. Since this question has come up again in my life, and I am working on keeping a mental list on this subject, perhaps it would be helpful for me to finally put some words together about it.

Self, I have never met anybody like you. You are unique. You’re not like most people for some reason, and sometimes you think this quality works against you, but I think all in all it works in your favor. I love that you are different and have reasons for being different and are learning to become comfortable in your own albeit different skin.

I love that you love learning. You study math just for fun when nobody makes you. You take guitar lessons so you can play along with the songs you like. You’re even learning how to solo and about music theory, and that’s not easy stuff.

I love that you reflect on yourself in an effort to understand yourself, your actions, and your effects on others around you. Sometimes you can come across as confrontational and opinionated, but deep down inside, I know you are looking for common ground and the opportunity to share information and debate and discuss ideas.

I love that you are a free thinker and don’t take what people tell you at face value. You question things, and you search for your own answers, even if you never find them. You’re ok with saying, “I don’t know, but I know where to look for that answer.”

You are kind and loving. You are friendly and can be funny. You can be authoritative and you aren’t afraid to speak in front of crowds. You aren’t afraid to video yourself playing guitar and singing even though you know your performance isn’t perfect. You express yourself and seek connections with others even if they are different than you are.

Don’t get me wrong self, I know you have experienced a lot of things in your lifetime, both positive and negative. You’ve had to bounce back several times from obstacles thrown your way. Even though you can get frustated and upset, you try to find the positives in the negatives, and you try to see problems as opportunities for growth. I love your resiliency. Your parents got divorced while you were a baby and your dad did not take a very active role in your upbringing, but you became a strong, self-sufficient woman anyway.

You edited and self-published your dad’s book for him after passed away.

You were a single mom for four years and handled it with grace. You worked hard on your master’s degree (earned a 4.0 GPA) and got yourself into a professional position as a teacher.

You tutor kids in math and pass on your enthusiasm for the subject and for education in general.

You inspire people.

You care about health and fitness and make healthy choices as much as possible day to day. You educate your kids about the benefits of good nutrition and exercise

You prioritize family, and you’ve built your life step by step with your husband. You are goal oriented and know how to take steps to reach your goals. You’re reliable. When you say you’re going to do something, you do it. You can be counted on when a friend needs support.

I love that you are both tough on your kids and loving with them at the same time. They know they have high expectations, but they also know they have your help in achieving them. You express love freely and love hugging. You think ahead for your kids and do what you can do today to get them to where they want to be in the future.

I love that you care about the Earth and all its inhabitants.  I love that you spent 95 days outdoors. I love that you put your life on the line to speak out for the environment. I love that you notice all the little things like pretty skies, sunsets, wildlife, and flowers around you. I love that you are interested in space.

I love that you are committed to working on different areas of yourself. You aim to be the best you can be and work on being a well-rounded person. Take this blog for example. Your mom read your diary and you got in trouble for it when you were a teenager. Ever since then, you’ve had writer’s block when it comes to writing about yourself. I’m proud of you for blogging, even if you don’t get to it every day, and no matter how many ‘likes’ it gets you on facebook.

I think the thing I love the most about you is that you get along with pretty much anybody. Keep being you self. There’s nobody better qualified!

Love,

Susanne

20121126-161421.jpg

One comment on “30 Days of Truth: A letter to yourself, tell yourself EVERYTHING you love about yourself

Leave a Reply

