People are People

20121130-143324.jpg

20121130-143353.jpg

What makes people think people of other religions are any less valuable as human beings? We heard this before from one of our neighbors who said a life in Iran or Afghanistan isn’t worth as much as a life here in the US and that we are god’s chosen people and other countries look to us like a beacon on a hill.

I heard it again today in a message regarding a religious post I put on Facebook yesterday. My friend told me that nations that seek god are blessed and those who don’t are not blessed, even cursed (and uses Israel as an example).

I’m sorry, but I completely disagree. People are people. Period. Because one sect believes something doesn’t make them any better than another sect that believes something different. This is part of the problem in the world today. We can’t see each other as human beings sharing life on the same planet and respect each other’s differences.

My Christian friends think they are right about everything including the unknowable mysteries of the universe (despite scientific evidence to the contrary) and that everybody else in the world is going to hell. When we debate, it always comes down to blind faith. Nothing makes sense, but you just have to believe it anyway. I’m sorry, but that doesn’t work for me. I’m not saying they are wrong either. I’m just saying they can’t be right while everybody else in the world is wrong. And they don’t know the mysteries of the universe just like I don’t know the mysteries of the universe. It’s harder to admit you don’t really know than it is to have blind faith. There is no comforting story for what happens after we die. As hard as that is to accept, I’m sticking with agnosticism.

10 comments on “People are People

  1. I knew as I was writing my message, you might misunderstand what I was saying about Israel…I was using their disobedience as an example, and consequences…not a curse…I definately was not clear on that, and I apologize for that, please don’t misunderstand. The rebuke of Babylon and their pride is more of perhaps what I meant regarding the Scripture I gave you and a nation not being blessed. Please know, I definately don’t claim to understand or know everything….I leave that to God…I just choose to believe in Jesus’ words that “I am the way, and the truth and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me”. I don’t think less of other humans that don’t choose Him, in fact the exact opposite, I try to love them as Jesus would.

    • Reminds me of the quote by Jewel “to be forgiven we must first believe in sin.” To get to heaven, we first have to believe in it.

  2. Thanks for taking the time to read it and for the thoughtful discussion. I appreciate your input. I’m glad that your faith works for you and many others who feel the same way as you. I should be more clear that it’s not just Christianity that thinks they are right and everybody else is wrong. Nothing personal. The one thing all religions have in common is love. I’m good with that. I like a lot of what I’ve learned about Jesus’s teachings about love and peace. I think we would get along just fine if he came back today. That reminds me of another song, Heart Like Mine, by Miranda Lambert. Check it out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZCbTICNAwxM

  3. of course like your website but you have to check the spelling on quite a few of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I find it very bothersome to tell the reality on the other hand I’ll certainly come again again.

    • Thanks for bringing that to my attention. I will go back and look for spelling mistakes and see if I can get them all fixed! Come back and visit anytime.

  4. I’m really impressed together with your writing abilities and also with the structure on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is uncommon to look a great blog like this one today..

    • Wow, thank you! No it’s not a paid theme, and no I didn’t modify it myself. I did find the header picture to insert at the top. But otherwise, I love space and the earth, and my blog is reflective of me looking out into the universe with wonder. That’s why I picked the theme. Writing is not my main craft (I’m a math tutor), but I do enjoy it and the blogging platform as a way to get my thoughts out. I’m happy to hear you were impressed 🙂

Leave a Reply

