Hormones and Stress

Overview of the thyroid system (See Wikipedia:...

Overview of the thyroid system (See Wikipedia:Thyroid). To discuss image, please see Talk:Human body diagrams (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Upon the advice of several health care practitioners, I had my hormones tested including TSH, estrogen, progesterone, cortisol, and testerone. A Chinese massage therapist said I think too much, have too much yang, and that my hormones were off. How he could tell all of that from massaging me, I don’t know. My physical therapist also suggested getting my hormones tested in relation to my chronic pain problem. I had my hormones tested in 2000 when I was diagnosed with osteopenia, but everything was in normal range. I recently saw a chiropractor at a natural wellness center and failed his applied kinesiology tests for adrenal function. He looked at my MRI results and agreed with other doctors that there is no reason for me to be in pain all the time. He suggested I get my hormones tested, including cortisol (stress hormone) and started treating me for adrenal fatigue.

The adrenal glands sit atop the kidneys.

The adrenal glands sit atop the kidneys. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

While my numbers all came back within normal limits, my gynecologist’s office treats for optimal numbers, and mine were not optimal. Apparently, my hormones are out of whack after all. I had no idea that hormones can affect pain and inflammation. I learned something new today.

My TSH numbers are too high, which means my thyroid is underactive (hypothyroidism). It’s associated with dry skin, weight gain, irritability, and insomnia among other symptoms.

My cortisol levels are too high. Cortisol is a stress hormone associated with our fight or flight response in the parasympathetic nervous system. Stress can mean current, acute stress as well as old, unresolved emotional stress. It triggers the body to deposit fat around the midsection to protect our vital organs in times of famine and disease. It increases overall inflammation.

My testerone level is too low. That is associated with fatigue and libido.

I know that hormones run the lives of adolescents and teenagers, but I have underestimated the role they play in my middle-aged life. I’m starting to accept the middle-aged me. The night sweats, the irregular cycles, the graying hair, and the growing midsection are all signs that I am over the hill. I just didn’t realize what a role that stress must play in my life.

I dream about being stressed out. I am frequently frustrated and angry. I try to yell and nothing comes out. I want to be with people who don’t want to be with me. I am chased by wild animals. My waking life is not so stressful on its face, but if you get me talking about the past, frustrations and anger are not far under the surface.

I need to chill out so I can start feeling better.

4 comments on “Hormones and Stress

  1. Pingback: I’m too a little too tense to be stressed…. | clayzmama says……

  2. Pingback: Health And Hormones | thelittlethingseveryday

Leave a Reply

