Self Care Sunday: girl time, massage, boundaries, and yoga

It’s Self Care Sunday. How are you taking care if yourself today?

I’m breaking from my usual weekend routine at the gym to spend the day with my daughter (12) at her studio’s first dance competition of the season.

Girl time:
Whether it’s spending time with my daughters or with my girlfriends, I think it’s important to take time to celebrate femininity and to have fun together. Guy time is also important for guys, but I’m a girl so that’s what I’m focusing on in this post. Last weekend I spent one-on-one time with my daughter at college (19) and today I am devoting my day to my younger daughter (12). We are watching and cheering on her friends at her dance studio who are competing. I like to support her interests, and I get the chills watching the dances! Yesterday, I took her to her first Chinese foot reflexology massage. We also enjoy going to the nail salon and movies. I like going out with my friends too. My girlfriends and I get together for coffee, happy hour, lunches, and outings like Top Golf, Painting with a Twist, and Boudoir Therapy.

Massage:
Massage is awesome it helps increase circulation, relax muscles and ease tension. There are many styles of massage. Swedish is light pressure mainly for relaxation. I prefer deep-tissue massage since I have knots in my muscles that never go away. In deep-tissue massage, they use their forearms and elbows for added pressure. About a year ago, I discovered Chinese massage. I’d heard of Chinese foot reflexology but never tried it. In Chinese medicine, they believe that different parts of the feet correspond to different body parts. Massaging those points on the feet helps those body parts function better. They also offer full body massages like I’ve never experienced before. It’s medium to firm pressure and they hit specific acupressure points to help energy (chi) flow better through the body.

Boundaries:
I’m talking about interpersonal boundaries. And unfortunately I’m learning the hard way how to keep toxic people and toxic relationships away from my life. There is an expression that we can’t control other people; we can only control ourselves. We can’t control what happens to us, but we can control our reactions to those things. My relationship with my mom is very difficult, and it really stresses me out to have too much communication with her. I’m doing everything I can to put up a healthy boundary and to make decisions based on what is best for my health regardless of how she behaves toward me or likes what decisions I make. I quit my job almost a year ago because of a toxic work environment. A year later I can look back and be happy about that decision even though it was incredibly upsetting at the time. Sometimes we have to listen to ourselves and make tough decisions. I’ve been learning about the effects of stress on our bodies and overall health, and I think it’s important to do what we can to lower stress in our lives. If that means keeping negative, toxic people at an arm’s length, so be it.

Yoga:
I missed my class at the gym today, but I plan to do some yoga when I get home with a DVD. I have one called “back care yoga” with Rodnee Yee. It’s only about a half hour long, but it feels so good on my back. The video was taken next to the ocean, and I love the sounds of the waves in the background. Yoga is a great low-impact exercise. The stretching is good for flexibility, and holding poses builds strength and stamina. It increases balance and coordination. Yoga also develops the mind, body, spirit connection, helping us to slow down and be mindful our our breath. My favorite part is savasana, the part at the end when we relax, meditate, and close the practice.

20130303-160154.jpg

Thanks for reading this entry. Peace out!

Leave a Reply

