Self Care Sunday: Rest/Ice/Compression/Elevation and Positive Thinking

I’m so annoyed because I hurt my knee again at the gym. It’s the right knee that’s already had five surgeries for torn meniscus. I was just talking about how my knee was torn five times already with a friend yesterday. The first time, I was rock climbing. Second time, I was doing step aerobics. Third time, getting off the floor wearing an ankle boot. Fourth time, walking with an ankle boot. Fifth time, putting on my shoes. There isn’t much meniscus left to tear.

It feels like it’s about to blow again. It’s been hurting some lately, so at the gym I decided to stretch, do some PT exercises then get into the pool to swim some laps. It pinched a few times when I was on the floor with the physio ball. When I got up to walk downstairs to the pool, it pinched really sharply. I could barely limp to the locker room and sat down to call my husband to tell him. We left right away and came home. He just had to leave to go out of town for a few days for work, and I’m at home with my knee wrapped and on ice. Planning to stay off it for the rest of the day and hoping it will all just go away.

Rest:
I’m resting for the rest of today. It hurts to walk, but I can put some weight on it. I think the best thing to do is give it a break and let it settle down.

Ice:
Using ice packs to help relieve pain and swelling in the joint.

Compression:
Wrapped my knee in a compression band to help hold it together and put pressure on it.

Elevation:
On the reclining couch with my feet up and right leg on a pillow. Elevation allows the blood to flow out of the extremities, reducing inflammation and swelling.

Positive Attitude:
I could wallow in self-pity right now, but that won’t help me much. I have bad memories of twice tearing meniscus in the same knee so badly, my knee was locked in a bent position for days until I could get in for surgery. I’m afraid that’s about to happen again because I feel the same pinching sensation that comes from meniscus tears. Instead of gliding smoothly when the knee joint moves, it catches on the rough edges and causes pain. My husband tells me to stay positive. It’s not locked in a bent position yet. I don’t know for sure it’s torn yet. So far there is no talk of a sixth surgery yet. While the fear is there, and I anticipate a downward spiral if those fears are confirmed, for now I choose to stay positive. Forgiving myself for not being able to get a good workout today and allowing myself to take the rest of the day to rest.

How are you taking care of yourself today?

Thanks for reading this entry. Peace out!

20130317-172357.jpg

20130317-172423.jpg

Leave a Reply

