Self Care Sunday: making appointments, showers, flowers, and sticky notes

20130331-212644.jpg

Do you make time for yourself? I try to. To help myself, I make appointments in my schedule for the gym. I’m more likely to go if I plan in advance what days to go during the week. It’s understood that we want to go on the weekends too. I try to make it to the 11:00am yoga class at the gym on Sundays. I also like to make time to get my nails done from time to time. It’s something little that makes a difference. I feel prettier when my nails look nice.

20130331-213528.jpg

There is nothing like a long, hot shower. It’s relaxing and refreshing to wash off the day before getting into bed, and it’s a great way to wake up in the morning and prepare for the day. I always feel better after getting out of a shower. It’s so good for my skin to moisturize right after a shower while it’s still moist. I don’t always dry/style my hair and put on makeup, but when I do, I definitely feel more confident.

I also think it’s nice to buy flowers for myself from time to time. I prefer living plants and flowers so they don’t die quickly. I especially like my calla lilies that I planted a few years ago. They come back every year, and they have a beautiful red flower. I’ve also planted knockout roses in my gardens and love snipping buds to put in a vase inside.

20130331-214619.jpg

Sticky notes are a good way to give myself reminders to take care of myself and use positive thinking. I also like to leave romantic messages on sticky notes for my husband. He is slowly learning to return the favor. It makes me happy to find little notes from him.

How are you taking care of yourself today?

Thanks for reading this entry. Peace out!

Leave a Reply

