Twinkle Twinkle Little Star: My daughter’s fiction entry won an award!

English: Twinkle Twinkle little star (English)...

English: Twinkle Twinkle little star (English) Lullaby from the Lullabies of Europe education project (see http://www.lullabies-of-europe.org/) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am so proud of my daughter (12). She won Honorable Mention in the Coppell Gifted Association fiction writing contest. Below are two pictures of her work. I’m so impressed with her writing skills overall and the vocabulary choices and sensitive personal references in her story. Enjoy!

20130412-162042.jpg

20130412-162049.jpg

Looking back I realize I lived a good life. Sure, there have been a few bumps in the road, but that’s normal, right?  I’ve made some mistakes but overall it was a good run.

I remember being a child; being so innocent and oblivious to all the bad things in the world. I remember my mother singing to me; my mother, how beautiful she was.  She had flaws like anyone else, but she tried her best to be perfect.  My father; always a strong man, yet he had a soft side for family.  My gorgeous sister; she was the funny one, the light of our family.  My baby brother shone brighter than the sun with his eyes full of wonder and curiosity.  Then there was my big brother; strongest of all fought for our country, and is my hero even through he doesn’t wear a cape.  This was my family, the best of the best.

As time went on, age took its toll…and my parents.  My siblings remain, but age is gripping the eldest the tightest and I know they’re on their way out.  As for me and my little brother, we’re doing alright for now.

I remember being a child; running around the yard playing tag with the little one.  I used to go to the nail salon with my big sister.  Sometimes I would travel to go see my big brother.  I remember being a teenager; and not quite being able to drive, and being mortified that my mom had to take me everywhere.  i remember my first kiss and my first date with a boy.  I remember growing up and realizing that my parents had been right about everything.  I remember my wedding day, and then my first child being born.  I remember both my parents’ funerals, and how tightly the despair gripped me, how emotionally damaged I was.  I remember my little girl turning 5, and all the tea parties we had together.  Then I remember the symptoms, terrible eczema rashes.  I remember going to the doctor and being diagnosed with cancer;  the doctor said it was spreading and I had 1 year to live.  All these memories are laid over me like a blanket.  That doctor appointment was 1 year ago.

Lights out, days end.  Close my eyes, dare to dream.  I remember my mother’s melodious voice singing, “Twinkle, twinkle little star.”  Suddenly I am being lifted out of my body.  “How I wonder what you are.”  My mother kept singing.  I saw the light come closer.  “Up above the world so high.”  I’m now looking down over my very own body.  “Like a diamond in the sky.”  Something isn’t right.  “Twinkle, twinkle little star.”  My eyes begin to open.  “How I wonder what you are.”  My eyes open, and I”m in the arms of my mother.  I’m a little girl again.  My eyes fill with tears.  I’m not dead; I’m surely alive.

 

Thanks for reading this entry. Peace out!

6 comments on “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star: My daughter’s fiction entry won an award!

    • Thank you Kristal, I agree. Was blown away by this piece. Apparently it wasn’t even required, but she wanted to enter the contest anyway. I’m touched by all the personal references too ❤ thanks for reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

