Jewel

JEWEL (05/27/06)

JEWEL (05/27/06) (Photo credit: minxual)

Jewel - CMA Fest 2008

Jewel – CMA Fest 2008 (Photo credit: tncountryfan)

Stand (Jewel song)

Stand (Jewel song) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Satisfied (Jewel song)

Satisfied (Jewel song) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

2 Become 1 (Jewel song)

2 Become 1 (Jewel song) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: Jewel 2008-06-05

English: Jewel 2008-06-05 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This Way (song)

This Way (song) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Famous recording artist, Jewel, performs durin...

Famous recording artist, Jewel, performs during the Secretary of Defense Holiday Show 2000, “A Tribute to the Air Force.” She was one of many stars which supported the event at Ramstein Air Base, Germany, on December 17th, 2000. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ten (song)

Ten (song) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Jewel performing for US troops in 2000.

Jewel performing for US troops in 2000. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m meeting my idol, Jewel Kilcher Murray tonight! Yes that’s right, later today in Ft. Worth, Texas, I will be attending the VIP meet and greet event before her show. I’ve never met a musician at a VIP event, and I am beside myself with excitement and anticipation!
What’s the big deal? Celebrities are people. I get that. They don’t have superhuman powers. But they are celebrities for a reason (usually..), and to me this feels like it will be a brush with greatness, the only time in my life that our paths will cross.  She’s been such a strong influence on my life, I feel like I’m some kind of superfan.  I want her to know how much I love her work and how much I admire her.  I anticipate only have a few seconds in person with her, and I have so much to say I just had to sit down and type some of it out.

She possesses amazing musical talent and is a true artist. She writes her own songs and can entertain a crowd for hours with just a guitar.  There are few other artists who possess that ability. I tried to list them today:  Eddie Vedder, Bob Dylan, Neil Young.  I can’t think of another female though.  Jewel does play with a band sometimes, and she does put down her guitar sometimes, but I’ve also seen her spend hours just singing and playing guitar. Pure talent. I admire her so much. She makes being a singer/songwriter look easy as it comes to her so naturally.  Her songs are simple yet beautiful.  Her lyrics are profound and poetic.  She is sensitive and artistic.
I’ve met a few other celebrities (President Carter, Chelsea Clinton, Kevin Spacey, Sheryl Crow, Jimmy Smits, Pierce Brosnan), but this is the first time I will ever meet one of my absolute favorites, one that makes me freak out with excitement. Jewel tops my list of favorite artists. If I was going to meet Michael Stipe of R.E.M., I would be flipping out too. I love Jewel so much, I added meeting her to my bucket list. It’s the first thing on my list to check off since I made it.
I’ve been a big Jewel fan ever since her first single, “Who will save your soul?” I remember when it first came out, and the first time I heard she was playing in concert was at the 9:30 Club in DC. I didn’t go! What a dummy. After that, I finally saw her for the first time at the WHFStival, a concert with multiple bands put on by the local progressive music radio station. I think that was December of 1996. She opened the show with this song, my favorite, Near You Always.  I fell in love with her and sang along with every song on the album, Pieces of You.  Here are some of my favorites from that album:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5Rjfyc7Gnc ( a song about drug addiction..I can play this one on the guitar, but I can’t sing it at the same time).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4uy_kz2myh8 (the title track, love the candor, succinct words that say so much)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGj77BrEgj4 (recently learned how to play this song)

Her story was intriguing; raised in Alaska in a log cabin, she was eventually discovered singing in a coffee shop in San Diego, CA. She was living in her car and dirt poor, doing what she loved to make ends meet.    While I’ve never lived in Alaska, I have lived in a car before and experienced being dirt poor so I could kind of relate. People started telling me I looked like her, that girl who is singing in the bathroom in her video. I was so flattered because I’ve always thought she is incredibly beautiful. In 1996, I snuck into a MTV Pre-Inaugural Ball to celebrate Bill Clinton’s reelection, and reporters there kept mistaking me for Jewel. They tried to interview me a few times, and I just laughed and told them they had the wrong person.
Her music has become the soundtrack to my adult life. I bought every album and sing along with every single song.
Music is my life, and I’m a big fan of live concerts. This will be the fifth time I’ve seen her I think. Although I’ve seen her multiple times (DC, VA, NV, TX) I’ve never seen the option to buy VIP tickets. I’ve seen that option for other artists and clicked on the link to find out more information. It’s always been way too expensive. I was amazed at how reasonable her price was, so I went for it.  Here are more links to my favorites over the years:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zH5bC2jTluM (Down So Long – about seeing light at the end of a tunnel, things have to get better)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5gQeA5uETU (Hands – about finding personal power, my favorite quote comes from this song “In the end, only kindness matters”)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WHbQjLc7GXc (A Life Uncommon – enough said)

I’m trying to add more links, but my right-clicker isn’t working on my mouse for some reason. I’m just going to take that as a sign from the universe that I’ve written enough in this post and go take a shower before my big night. I’m so super excited I can’t stand it.  What do you say to your idol??

 

Thanks for reading this entry. Peace out!

 

One comment on “Jewel

  1. Pingback: Reverse Bucket List | Susanne's World

Leave a Reply

