31 Day Music Challenge: Day 6 A Song that Reminds You of Somewhere

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9QPZ4h-NYQA

“Sacrifice” by Alaine reminds me of St. John, USVI.  It was the last day of our vacation there in 2007 that I first heard this song on the radio during our ride down the mountain to the ferry.  I thought it was Madonna at first, a reggae version.  Close your eyes and listen, it sounds like Madonna.  The melody was catchy, and I tapped my feet on the dashboard as I looked out the window taking in the lush jungle, rolling mountains, and beautiful blue water in the distance.  When love songs come on the radio, I like to joke with my husband and dedicate them to him. I listened to the lyrics and looked up “Sacrifice” online.  I found it right away and downloaded the reggae gold album from iTunes with it.  That was six years ago, and still when I hear this song, I’m right back in that jeep coming down the mountains in St. John.

Reef Bay and Virgin Islands National Park (St....

Reef Bay and Virgin Islands National Park (St. John, USVI) as seen from road on Cocoloba Point (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

See the whole music challenge list at DeBie Hive.

Thanks for reading this entry. Peace out!

Leave a Reply

