31 Day Music Challenge: Day 7 A Song that Reminds You of a Certain Event

The Reivers

The Reivers

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LVnuciENp2g

“Araby” by The Reivers reminds me of the time I saw them live at the 9:30 Club in Washington, DC in late 1986 or early 1987.   The 9:30 Club was my weekend hangout, a fun club with live music and multiple bars. The drinking age was 18 back then.  The stage was in the corner, and that main room was filled with people standing up, no seating.  The camera person sat in a perch above the crowd.  They were Zetigeist then and have since changed their name to The Reivers.   I went downstairs and got to meet the band and made friends with the drummer, Garrett Williams.   He was sweaty, and I gave him an extra shirt. I’m not lying. That’s how we met. They are from Austin, Texas, and now I live near Dallas, Texas.  I saw Garrett not too long ago on a trip to Austin.  It was awesome to see him after so many years!  After some time apart, The Reivers are back together and put out another CD called Second Story.   If you haven’t checked them out yet, download the album Translate Slowly.  Let me know how you like it. It was part of the soundtrack of my youth!

garrettWith Garrett in Austin, TX 2012

Here is a video of them playing Electra at the 9:30 Club:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fdiv02bFHi4

See the whole music challenge list at DeBie Hive.

Thanks for reading this entry. Peace out!

Leave a Reply

